Texas Association For School Nutrition Third Board Of Directors Meeting, Minutes February 23, 2024

Call to Order

President Doug Massey called the Board of Directors meeting of the Texas Association for School Nutrition (TASN) to order at 10:33 pm on February 23, 2024.

Thought For The Day

The thought for the day was given by President Elect Lacy Willey

Opening Ceremonies

President Doug Massey welcomed all to the meeting and thanked them for their attendance.

Roll Call

Secretary/Treasurer, Christie Lammers used a sign in sheet for the Roll Call. Out of 20 Board members, 15 were present, so a quorum was established. The following Board members were absent: Kasandra Davis, Education Chair, Jeff Atkinson, Area 1 Rep, Vicky Clark Area 2 Rep, Nancy Macias, Area 3 Rep, Tina Brooks Area 12 Rep.

Committee to Approve Minutes

Veronica Villarreal, Area 10 Rep and Suellen Atterbery, Area 5 Rep were appointed by Doug Massey to approve the minutes of the meeting.

Adoption of Agenda

The agenda was unanimously approved for adoption.

Financial Report

Secretary/Treasurer, Christie Lammers summarized the year-to-date financials as of January 2024.

Report of Officers

- President, Doug Massey gave a verbal report (see attached).
- President Elect, Lacy Willey gave a verbal report (see attached).
- Vice President, Susan D'Amico a verbal report (see attached).
- Past President, Darin Crawford gave a verbal report (see attached).

Executive Committee Report

Secretary/Treasurer, Christie Lammers briefly reviewed activities of the Executive Board that are covered in attached reports.

Executive Director's Report

Executive Director, Karen Andrasi gave an oral report (see attached).

Report of Chair of Area Representatives

Tanya Davis Area 4, gave an oral report (see attached). Joy Peters Area 7, gave an oral report (see attached). Norma Riojas Area 6, gave an oral report (see attached). Suellen Atteberry Area 5, gave an oral report (see attached). Veronica Villarreal Area 10, gave an oral report (see attached).

Report of Standing Committees

John Ceballos, Membership Chair gave an oral report (see attached)
Duane Guidry, Industry Chair gave an oral report (see attached)
Michael Francis, Organizational Affairs Chair gave an oral report (see attached)
Jennifer Miller, Public Policy & Legislation Chair gave an oral report (see attached)
Adam Whitten, Chair of Area Representatives gave an oral report (see attached)

Report from Other Committees

There were no reports from other committees

Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business

New Business

EC/Finance Committee rescind Motion # 1 referencing adjustments to current staff members to reflect the newly adopted salary schedule voted on by the EC Committee on February 22, 2024. Position on Salary Schedule to be determined by TASN President and Executive Director.

Adjust TASN Headquarters staff salary structure for Administrative Assistants, Specialist and Coordinators. Reduce current staffing level by 1 FTE. Non renewal of marketing and website contracts. Salary ranges by position type: Administrative Assistant \$50,000-\$60,000, Coordinators and Specialist \$60,000-\$80,000.

Bonus Program for TASN Headquarters staff to be effective immediately. Bonuses to be based on increases in membership and revenues. Bonus period will be September 1st - August 31st of each year. Bonuses paid annually in February.

Chris Campbell to fill vacant Area 11 Representative position.

Announcements

2024 TASN Annual Conference | June 29-July 2, 2024 | San Antonio, Texas

2024 TASN Administrative Academy | October 21 -22, 2024 | Austin, Texas

2024 TASN Board/Committee Meetings | October 22-23, 2024 | Austin, Texas

2025 TASN Administrative Academy | February 19-20, 2025 | Austin, Texas

2025 TASN Board/Committee Meetings | February 20-21, 2025 | Austin, Texas

2025 TASN Annual Conference | June 22-25, 2025 | Corpus Christi, Texas

2026 TASN Annual Conference | June 28-30, 2026 | Grapevine, Texas

AdjournPresident Doug Massey, declared the meeting adjourned at 12:27 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Christie Lammers TASN Secretary/Treasurer 2023-2024